Posted by: Celine Cousteau | May 21, 2009

Meredith College- Woman of Achievement Award

It was Earth Day- April 22, 2009…..

I cannot believe that it has been a month since I spoke at Meredith College in Raleigh, North Carolina. How does time escape me? Perhaps because we never really have a hold on it in the first place.

http://www.meredith.edu/enews/announcement_details.php?id=5634

When I was asked to speak there I was told I was to be honored with the Woman of Achievement Award… and I was truly very honored indeed. To receive such a award is not really about me, it is about the work I am doing-  that serves to motivate me to keep going- so thank you! The Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina Presidential Series enabled this event to happen and s special thanks to Meredith College for bringing me back to lovely North Carolina where I spent a year of my childhood.

DSC_6225

Meredith College President Maureen Hartford presents the Meredith College 2009 Woman of Achievement Award to Céline Cousteau

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kim Drumgo (left) and Jasmine Smith (right), senior executives with Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina

Kim Drumgo (left) and Jasmine Smith (right), senior executives with Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina

 

 

 

I really enjoy speaking in universities as I think the minds of the students are so ready and open, they are ambitious, smart, discovering, and ready to take on the world. I had a wonderful opportunity to speak to professors and students both before and after the actual speaking event, which was a great way to connect to them instead of  just standing in front of them and giving a lecture. I learned of their on campus initiatives to create a greener campus. On Earth Day 2009, Meredith College received the City of Raleigh Environmental Award for their commitment to the environment.

http://www.meredith.edu/sustainability/news.htm

Leave a Reply

Categories

